650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > General Conversation > > I'm just saying... you know > > chopper bober, whats the diff?

chopper bober, whats the diff?
    Forum Index -> I'm just saying... you know
nuklearzelph

PostPosted: November 14, 2008, 2:26 am    Post subject: chopper bober, whats the diff?

i am really new to custom built bikes. i have seem american choppers a few times. i never heard of bober before. i kinda got the idea of a cafe and a tracker i think. what makes these?
jayel
650Rider Supporter
650Rider Supporter

PostPosted: November 14, 2008, 10:37 am    Post subject: Re: chopper bober, whats the diff?

a bobber is just a stripped down machine without doing any frame mods, or long forks
XSDAD

PostPosted: November 14, 2008, 11:57 am    Post subject: Re: chopper bober, whats the diff?

But the line gets fuzzier by the day... you'll see alot of "bobbers" that have weld-on hardtails, which technically would be a chopper... It seems to me that many people have their own definition, either it's based on how much $$$ is spent (lots = chopper, little = bobber), or frame modifications as was the original intent of the bobber, or wheither it's pretty or not...

And not to confuse you or anything, but there's also ratbikes, bratstyle and custom that all can be interchanged with bobber and chopper buy the owner or builder... Basically, eye of the beholder.

650Rider Supporter
650Rider Supporter

Location: Kansas City, Missouri, U.S.A.- 1977 XS650 "D" Standard

PostPosted: November 14, 2008, 5:01 pm    Post subject: Re: chopper bober, whats the diff?