650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Welcome > > Introduce yourself to the community here > > Hello Everyone from Michigan's U.P.!

Hello Everyone from Michigan's U.P.!
    Forum Index -> Introduce yourself to the community here
gwamba

PostPosted: July 13, 2008, 7:56 pm    Post subject: Hello Everyone from Michigan's U.P.!

My name is Tom and I live in Iron Mountain, MI (in the Upper Peninsula). It is about 110 miles north of Green Bay, WI.
I am a retired teacher getting back into cycles after over 25 years. My last bike was a 78 GS1000E Suzuki, full touring rigged, that took me across the USA a couple times.

y first bike was a Red/Silver1965 Triumph 650 and I always liked that style...

I recently purchased a red 1978 Yamaha XS650 SE from a neighbor... It is in great shape with 24,440 miles...not a scratch on the tank, sidecovers, fenders etc... My friend and I went over the brakes, electrical, new tires etc. He rewired the notorious turn signals and they work fine!

Two trouble spots... someone extended the fork tubes about 4" (makes the handling less stable) and the 2-1 aftermarket header exaust is too loud and backfires when throttling down. Overall the bike is really a joy to ride... especially after so many years!

Its nice to find a site where so many others love these great old 650 twins!
Photo Gallery
nj1639

PostPosted: July 13, 2008, 8:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Hello Everyone from Michigan's U.P.!