650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Custom Work: Chop, Bob, Cafe and Flattracker - Streettracker > > Chopper jobs > > Step One?

Step One?
Go to page 1, 2  Next
    Forum Index -> Chopper jobs
BeanerBiker

PostPosted: April 3, 2008, 10:29 pm    Post subject: Step One?

For those of you who havent read my intro to the community, Im a complete Noob to building and have a 1979 XS650 I want to make into the most basic chopper possible.

I have started the tearing down of the bike and I am nearly complete. My thought is that the frame is the first thing I need to concentrate on with the build. Am I correct in this thinking? If not where should I start?

I have found the two or three shops that will weld the hardtail my current frame. What is everyone reccommedation as to who I should use and why?

Black Widow
G&L Choppers
TC Bros Choppers

PS - Im only gonna apologize for my stupid questions once. I'm learning on the fly here guys and gals! Thanks! Embarassed Smile
Photo Gallery
drifter
650Rider Supporter
650Rider Supporter

PostPosted: April 4, 2008, 12:42 am    Post subject: Re: Step One?

The first thing to do is to get an idea in your head of what EXACTLY you want. Then scetch it out. This will allow you to try different things, like wheel sizes, tube lengths, frame stretches and rakes, etc. Remember, its easy to erase a scetch if you screw up, but one the weld is done, its a lot harder to erase it!