650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Motorcycle Systems > > Electrical > > Battery drains...

Battery drains...
Go to page 1, 2  Next
    Forum Index -> Electrical
erb224

PostPosted: August 29, 2007, 1:24 pm    Post subject: Battery drains...

Hello All,

I'm new to the motorcycle world... I bought a 83 heritage special from a friend of my Dad's. The guy said that he thought the rotor or stator was bad when I bought it.

Anyway, will a bad rotor/stator drain the battery when the bike isn't running? I bought a brand new battery, rode the bike a little around the house and the next time I got on it the battery was dead. I just want to make sure I'm going in the right direction.

Thanks,
Ed
xsjohn

PostPosted: August 29, 2007, 1:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Battery drains...

www.650rider.com/index...pic&t=2307

www.650rider.com/index...pic&t=2151

www.650rider.com/index...opic&t=922

Here is a few previous posts on charging........There is a bunch if you look under forum and electrical..........check rotor first.......rotor shouldnt dtain battery when its off.....stator either........short somewhere....Check battery when its running to see if its charging.......also whenits off disconnect the positive and barely tounch it to the terminal.....see if there is a slight spark.....shoundn't be one.....if so it is drainig.....?

John
Photo Gallery
erb224

PostPosted: August 29, 2007, 1:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Battery drains...