650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Motorcycle Systems > > Fuel > > Carbs overflow - probably heard it before

Carbs overflow - probably heard it before
    Forum Index -> Fuel
BT650

PostPosted: June 8, 2009, 10:14 pm    Post subject: Carbs overflow - probably heard it before

Newbie here. I have a 79 with stock jets (I think) but have pod filters and no mufflers just straight headers. The bike actually runs pretty good but will start overflowing fuel from either side out the drain tubes until I turn the gas off. If I take the filters off, they are drenched. The original tank had two petcocks with no vacuum lines. Now I have a single straight flowthru petcock going to a T-fitting to feed both carbs. I also noticed that the vacuum tube coming off the top of the engine has one going to the side cover and another that is blocked off. Carbs have been cleaned. Plugs are starting to get black and wet. Any suggestions? Jet size problem because of filters and no mufflers, float level adjustment, or vacuum problem?
xsjohn

PostPosted: June 8, 2009, 10:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Carbs overflow - probably heard it before

If it were mine ..........I would drop the bowls and using a small amount of fine steel wool on the end of a q-tip I would push it in the seat and twist it like 20 times.........and see what happened..........polishes the hole for a better seal.........check the point on the needle for wear.....newer carbs had rubber tipped needles for that overflow reason........

xsjohn
Photo Gallery
BT650