650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Welcome > > Introduce yourself to the community here > > Noobie from Ohio

Noobie from Ohio
    Forum Index -> Introduce yourself to the community here
dnalls

PostPosted: November 9, 2008, 7:51 pm    Post subject: Noobie from Ohio

Hello everyone! I just received my 81 650 special on Friday so I'm excited. It had been sitting unused for several years so some work is required to ride it. I'm a newbie and just received my motorcycle endorsement a month ago. Any advice that you or the other members can give would be greatly appreciated. I'll be sure to give my two cents when I've acquired enough knowledge to do so. Before pics will shortly follow.
Photo Gallery
xsleo

PostPosted: November 10, 2008, 12:39 am    Post subject: Re: Noobie from Ohio

welcome to the forum. make sure the battery is fully charged. new gas, any thats been sitting very long is no good. if it starts and runs ok, your doing good. if not, get a repair manual, the most important tool you can buy. start by cleaning the carbs, checking the alternator output. the igition doesn't work well with low voltage. if you get it running good then you can start with other fixes. like tires, brakes, swing arm and steering head bearings. we will be here to help, good luck

'75 XS650B with a 79 dual disc front end, rear disk brake, Chrysler reg, Radio Shack rect, LED tail/ brake and turn signals.
Photo Gallery
dnalls

PostPosted: November 10, 2008, 11:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Noobie from Ohio