650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Parts Needed > > Performance Parts > > First Engine Build

First Engine Build
    Forum Index -> Performance Parts
amosey

PostPosted: August 15, 2008, 3:27 pm    Post subject: First Engine Build

Hello everyone. Ive been riding my '75xs for 3 years now and this summer I decided to park it and start work on rebuiilding the engine and modifying the bike. I really love twins and have become obsessed with the 650. There seems to be a lot of info and options out there- enough to make my head spin. Im going to start with the top end of the engine. Here's the plan-

750 big bore
Web perf. cam
new valves seals guides
Boyer-Bransden ignition
stock headpipes w/shorty mufflers
stock BS38 CV carbs

any recommendations?
what jets should I start with in the carbs?
Thanks for your time and info,
Aaron
BiffTirkle

PostPosted: August 15, 2008, 6:30 pm    Post subject: Re: First Engine Build

if you are going all out with engine upgrades. do yourself a favor and get a set of round slides from michael at 650central. trust me. its worth it not to have to pull your hair out tuning those stock carbs.

PostPosted: August 15, 2008, 6:53 pm    Post subject: Re: First Engine Build

Better yet Biff, contact xsjohn for his needles on the bs34 carbs. All those upgrades will need a good set of carb upgrades. And then you can still stick with stock carbs, they'll just need to be tuned to the big bore upgrade.
BiffTirkle

PostPosted: August 15, 2008, 7:08 pm    Post subject: Re: First Engine Build