650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Welcome > > Introduce yourself to the community here > > Noob from the Twin Cities

Noob from the Twin Cities
    Forum Index -> Introduce yourself to the community here
northernplains
650Rider Supporter
650Rider Supporter

PostPosted: September 10, 2007, 11:10 pm    Post subject: Noob from the Twin Cities

Good evening all - I'm a newbie just getting my feet wet and trying to comprehend the info I've been researching. Can someone post the exact locations where the model and engine numbers can be found? Pics would be most helpful. I'm going to own a '80 xs650 Special and see a label at the furthest point on the frame. Its a white label just below the handlebars but haven't looked for the engine ID. Can someone point out all this info for future reference?? With pics? Thanks in advance.

Pete
LouC

PostPosted: September 10, 2007, 11:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Noob from the Twin Cities

I just went thru that drill the other day myself..looking for the engine ser number...

Get on the floor, look at the front of the engine block..near the front motor mount. You should see the numbers stamped into the block running up and down. Should match the VIN number on the white tag on the neck of the frame. The frame will also have the same number stamped on it up on the neck area.

Welcome to 650's!! I have a 77 that I picked up last week..just getting started on pulling things apart so I can try to make it run after some cleaning and checking out...
Joseph