650Rider, xs650 hosted by XS650.com

What Happened to 650rider.com?

650 Rider went offline for about a month at the beginning of 2010. In order to save the technical information that was here, XS650.com acquired the site and brought it back online as a read-only archive. If you were a member of 650 Rider, you will need to re-register at XS650.com

Search 650Rider.com and XS650.com using Google!

650Rider Menu
 Community  Information

xs650 > > Custom Work: Chop, Bob, Cafe and Flattracker - Streettracker > > Did you say Bob? No I said Bobber! > > Bobber for a beginner?

Bobber for a beginner?
    Forum Index -> Did you say Bob? No I said Bobber!
scotts

PostPosted: August 17, 2007, 10:15 am    Post subject: Bobber for a beginner?

I came across a SWEET XS650 bobber on ebay. I'm drooling over it and trying to talk myself out of buying it.
In the ad it says that it's a hardtail and not for a beginner. I'm somewhat new to riding and have a few hundred miles under my belt.
This particular bike has little if any front rake (near stock if not stock), front and rear brakes, a hardtail conversion and a solo springer seat. It has traditional controls...no suicide shifter or forward pegs, etc.
What would make it unsuitable for a beginner? Are hardtails that much different to ride?
One of the reasons I'm attracted to this bike is that it's NOT so extreme. Having never ridden a bobber/hartail/solo springer seat, what makes them "not for a beginner"?
Photo Gallery
hesredbird

PostPosted: August 17, 2007, 11:59 am    Post subject: Re: Bobber for a beginner?

quote: What would make it unsuitable for a beginner?

Nothing. The smoother the road, the smoother the ride.
Photo Gallery
bluebikerblan

PostPosted: August 17, 2007, 12:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Bobber for a beginner?